Monday, September 16, 2013

Inaugural Freedom Plow Award for Poetry & Activism

We are very excited to announce the first ever Split This Rock Freedom Plow Award for Poetry & Activism 

The award, made possible through the generosity of the CrossCurrents Foundation, recognizes and honors a poet who is doing innovative and transformative work at the intersection of poetry and social change. We anticipate that the prize, like Split This Rock Poetry Festival, will become an essential, enduring part of our mission to promote the growing field of art and social activism on a national level.

This inaugural winner will be chosen by a panel of prominent judges: E. Ethelbert MillerMartha Collins, and Carlos Andres Gomez.

You are invited to help us celebrate the winner of the Freedom Plow Award and his/her achievements at a gala awards ceremony and reading at the Goethe-Institut of Washington, DC on the evening of 
November 1st, 6-9pm.

Here at Split This Rock we are thrilled to honor those who infuse activism with the creative power of the arts. We hope that you will join us in celebrating the vital work that Langston Hughes describes in the lines that inspired the name of the award:

The plow plowed a new furrow
Across the field of history.
Into that furrow the freedom seed was dropped.
Stay tuned for more details, and the announcement of the 2013 Freedom Plow Award winner!

No comments: